Yes, it’s been a while.

I just wanted to make a comment about one station’s promotion of the fact that they have been rated the most accurate weather forecasting in this television market. I don’t doubt that the statement is true, but there’s a “back story” you should know.

In the two preceding years, WAND StormCenter 17 was named by that same rating agency as the most accurate. The rating is something which the company must purchase the rights to in order to be able to promote that fact. TWO years. Most accurate. The problem was, WAND declined to purchase (very expensive) the right to use that rating.

I’m not trying to say that because I’ve retired, WAND no longer is the most accurate. What I’m saying is…and I don’t know how that company functions in their sales of the rating…If I were dealing with a situation such as this, and the most accurate station two years in a row would not buy my service, I think it’s possible to assume that I no longer would have them in the realm of contention and instead only rate the stations who possibly would buy my service.

I am NOT saying this is how that rating company works. In fact, I don’t know how they work. I’m just speculating how I might handle that situation.

I’m proud of the work I did and the work the people in my department did. But I’m glad to be retired.

Lee

Leave a Reply

